Winners of FCA Autorama High School Design Competition

A Girls Guide To Cars | Winners Of Fca Autorama High School Design Competition - Agirlsguidetocars Logotype Color Web Transparentbg 16X9 1

High schoolers design cars of the future.

The winners of the FCA Detroit Autorama Design Competition were announced this morning with the top prize of a $60,000 CCS scholarship going to New Hampshire’s Joshua Blundo. This student at Moultonborough Academy not only gets a scholarship to the College for Creative Studies, but also an Apple MacBook Pro, a 3-week summer automotive design course with housing, meals, and field trips, and passes to Detroit Autorama.

The contest was open to students in grades 10 through 12 attending a U.S. public high school and required each entrant to write an essay on what the Dodge brand means to them along with a hand-drawn image of their Dodge for the future.


Conner Stormer’s winning design


Winners were chosen by designers from the Chrysler Group Product Design Office, including Ralph Gilles, Senior Vice President – Product Design; Joe Dehner, Head of Dodge and Ram Truck Design; and Mark Trostle, along with industrial design faculty from CCS.

First place – Joshua Blundo, Moultonborough Academy (Moultonborough, New Hampshire)

Second place – Conner Stormer, Stoney Creek High School (Rochester Hills, Michigan)

Third place – Hwanseong Jang, Bloomfield Hills High School (Bloomfield Hills, Michigan)

Fourth place – Dongwon Kim, Homestead High School (Sunnydale, California)

“It’s been exciting to see this competition grow from a local level to now reaching students from all across the nation,” said Mark Trostle – Head of SRT, Mopar and Motorsports Design, FCA US LLC. “Partnering with CCS and Detroit Autorama gave us the exposure needed to attract young, creative minds and hopefully inspire them to explore automotive design as a potential career.”


Hwanseong Jang’s winning design


You can get a closer look at what those minds created by heading to the Mopar booth at Detroit Autorama where all four winning sketches will be displayed.


Dongwon Kim’s winning design


Nicole Wakelin contributes to The Boston Globe, CarGurus, BestRide, and Boldride, and she hosts her own blog,, where... More about Nicole Wakelin